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Virginia Commission on Youth 
2017 Legislative Studies and Initiatives 

 

REPORTING OF CHILD PROTECTIVE SERVICE CASES TO VIRGINIA’S PUBLIC SCHOOLS 
ADOPTED RECOMMENDATIONS 

  
Findings Recommendations 

 
Finding 1 
Section 63.2-1505(B)(7) of the Code of Virginia details one of the 
duties of a local department in a CPS case: “If a report of child 
abuse and neglect is founded, and the subject of the report is a 
full-time, part-time, permanent, or temporary employee of a 
school division located within the Commonwealth, notify the 
relevant school board of the founded complaint.” As the law is 
presently written, notification to the relevant school board would 
not occur if the employee subject of the founded complaint was 
no longer employed at the school. This code section is also 
reflected in 22VAC40-705-140(B)(3). 
 

 
Recommendation 1 
Amend § 63.2-1505(B)(7) of the Code of Virginia to require 
local departments of social services to report founded 
cases of child abuse and neglect of former school 
employees if they were an employee during the course of 
the investigation or at the time of the alleged conduct.      
     
 
 

 
Finding 2 
Section 63.2-1503(P) of the Code of Virginia states “[t]he local 
department shall notify the Superintendent of Public Instruction 
when an individual holding a license issued by the BOE is the 
subject of a founded complaint of child abuse or neglect and shall 
transmit identifying information regarding such individual if the 
local department knows the person holds a license issued by the 
BOE and after all rights to any appeal provided by § 63.2-1526 

 
Recommendation 2  
Amend § 63.2-1503(P) of the Code of Virginia to require 
local departments of social services to report founded 
cases of child abuse and neglect for an individual holding a 
license to the Superintendent of Public Instruction at the 
same time as a report is made to the local school board. 
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have been exhausted.” Notification to the Superintendent of 
Public Instruction commences several steps after notice to the 
local school board. DOE is not permitted to comment on ongoing 
investigations of a license holder and earlier notice would not 
change the current policy. This code section is also reflected in 
22VAC40-705-140(B)(4). 

 
Finding 3 
The appeals process in certain situations where a complaint has 
resulted in a founded disposition of a child abuse or neglect is 
outlined in § 63.2-1526 and 22VAC40-705-190. The Code of 
Virginia does not specify timing deadlines for a Department of 
Social Services hearing officer to schedule an appeal. A timing 
deadline is described in regulations in 22VAC40-705-190, but it is 
not definite. This regulation section states “[a] hearing officer 
shall schedule a hearing date within 45 days of the receipt of the 
appeal request unless there are delays due to subpoena 
requests, depositions or scheduling problems.” These delay 
allowances can cause an appeal to take much longer than 45 
days. Regulations also state that “[w]ithin 60 days of the close of 
receiving evidence, the hearing officer shall render a written 
decision.” 
 

 
Recommendation 3  
Amend § 63.2-1526 of the Code of Virginia to add language 
stating that an appellant may request no more than two 
extensions of the state administrative hearing unless 
compelling reasons exist, not to exceed an additional 90 
days.  
 
 

 
Finding 4 
The standard of review for a complaint of abuse and neglect is 
preponderance of the evidence. 22VAC40-705-10 states that 
““Founded” means that a review of the facts shows by a 
preponderance of the evidence that child abuse or neglect has 
occurred.” This standard is used in most CPS cases. However, a 
higher standard is used in complaints of abuse and neglect 
against school personnel. According to § 63.2-1511, “if, [the 
actions or omissions of a school personnel] were within such 
employee's scope of employment and were taken in good faith in 
the course of supervision, care, or discipline of students, then the 
standard in determining if a report of abuse or neglect is founded 

 
Recommendation 4  
Request the Virginia Commission on Youth to study the 
difference in standards of review to determine a founded 
case of abuse and neglect between school personnel and 
non-school personnel and to advise the Commission of its 
findings and recommendations by December 1, 2018.  
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is whether such acts or omissions constituted gross negligence 
or willful misconduct.” Section 63.2-1511 was amended to use 
this higher standard in 2005. 
 

Complaints of abuse and neglect involving school personnel 
have a higher overturn rate on appeal when compared to other 
cases because of the higher standard of review. Additionally, 
VDSS has a definition for preponderance of the evidence, but 
does not have one for gross negligence or willful misconduct, 
more commonly found associated with tort law.  
  


